Growing up, no meal would be complete without some form of protein- whether that be a grilled steak with a potato medley or tuna fish mixed through pasta- the animal protein was always present. I still remember the first time my friends recommended us to try a local Melbourne restaurant called ‘Veggie Bar.’ The name in itself was off putting, but after being recited half the menu, I was already planning a post meal McDonalds run. After ordering my curried chickpea and spinach burger with a side of cajun wedges, I was already thinking up ways to convince myself the tofu was chicken. After taking my first bite….I was shocked! Positively shocked! This full fledged meat eater was enjoying this completely meat free meal. However, I had a reputation to uphold and told my dining companions it was merely ‘okay.’ I went back again the next week. I did NOT go with the same friends. As I said- I had a (dietary) reputation to uphold. Here are 10 recipes which I’d easily consider dinner for a meat free option….or when there is a meat strike in the supermarket.

1. Crispy Buffalo Style Quinoa Sliders via How Sweet Eats

I almost hang my head in shame to admit….I may consider giving up my weekly beef burger habit for these epic looking sliders.

2. Crispy Quinoa Cakes via Oh She Glows

A sneaky and delicious way to get youngsters to score a serving of vegetables, is hidden in these Crispy Quinoa Cakes. Perfect for Vegans and those who can’t eat nuts!

3. Baked Felafel Lettuce Wraps via Back To Her Roots

Full of fiber and full of flavor, these Baked Felafel Lettuce Wraps would fit in all your necessary veggie servings in this meal alone, and not to mention would give PF Chang’s Chicken Lettuce Wraps a run for their money!

4. Roasted Vegetable Lasagna Stack for one via Back To Her Roots

I love single serving recipes and this lasagna looks so delicious, I could actually eat it from my screen…but I’d bump my head and that’s not cool.

5. The Greek Quiche via Clean Eats Fast Feets

The combination of olives, artichokes, sun-dried tomatoes and feta cheese makes this dish the ideal option to serve for breakfast or brunch, and perfect for leftovers. Even Zeus would want a slice of this.

6. Zucchini Salad with Parmesan and Basil via Chelsea’s Healthy Kitchen

While you may be entering Autumn/Fall, keep your meals out of season with this delicious Summer inspired salad. The combination of parmesan and basil already makes it a winner in my book!

7. Detox Quinoa Salad via Kiss My Broccoli

The only detox I’d foresee coming would be from over consumption of this salad- chock full of chickpeas, pomegranate and quinoa. I’d gladly overdose on this.

8. Peach Raspberry and Basil Flatbread via Kiss My Broccoli

I am already counting down the days until the next brunch I’m hosting…purely to whip up this bizarre yet genius flatbread!

9. Eggplant Meatballs via Lexi’s Clean Kitchen

Who would have ever thought eggplant and meat could be married into perfection in circular form? I didn’t…until now. This would be the perfect way to convert even the biggest carnivores out there.

10. Vegan Portobello Pizzas via Minimalist Baker

I pride myself on not being discriminative… to pizza. This vegetable filled twist using portobello mushrooms as their base should be awarded an Academy award…. of food. A chef’s hat? A star rating? A faceplant by me? Yes.

So before you proclaim to be a vegetable fiend or only consider meals to be ones with animals- give one of these recipes a go. They will convert you. Well, that might be pushing it. But it will keep you deliciously satisfied until your forthcoming steak. Featured photo credit: Arman Liew from thebigmansworld.com via media.lifehack.org

10 Amazing And Delicious Vegetables Recipes  Yes  Meat Free   - 3810 Amazing And Delicious Vegetables Recipes  Yes  Meat Free   - 8810 Amazing And Delicious Vegetables Recipes  Yes  Meat Free   - 110 Amazing And Delicious Vegetables Recipes  Yes  Meat Free   - 6110 Amazing And Delicious Vegetables Recipes  Yes  Meat Free   - 5610 Amazing And Delicious Vegetables Recipes  Yes  Meat Free   - 5110 Amazing And Delicious Vegetables Recipes  Yes  Meat Free   - 6310 Amazing And Delicious Vegetables Recipes  Yes  Meat Free   - 2810 Amazing And Delicious Vegetables Recipes  Yes  Meat Free   - 2910 Amazing And Delicious Vegetables Recipes  Yes  Meat Free   - 78